Aromatherapy Heat Packs Using Flax Seed

This is another one of those ‘write this down so you don’t forget’ posts. Because that is a thing I do. I am so sure I will remember how to make something, I go to replicate it a few months later, and…um…what measurements did I use? What did I do first? Yeah. I would like to blame my terrible memory on my kids (seriously, having kids literally changes your brain), but I’m pretty sure it was like this before.

Anyway, onto the show.

First of all, I’ll have to add the pictures later because I’m not on the ball enough to take pictures as I go. I forgot I was going to preserve this for posterity. (Update: Yay pictures!)

Materials:
-flannel (1 yd = 12 heat packs)

-flax seed (check your local feed store…way cheaper than the grocery store)

-sewing stuff (I suppose you could sew these by hand…how much time do you have?)

-small funnel (You know what works? The funnel-looking thing from your breast pump.)

-measuring cup, large-ish bowl, spoon

-essential oil

After you wash and iron the flannel, measure and cut  9″ x 12″ pieces. You’ll be able to get 12 heat packs out of 1 yard of fabric. (You can measure and cut with scissors, but holy cats does this make it easier.)

cutting

 

With right sides together, sew around 3 1/2 sides, leaving a few inches open to turn right side out and fill with flax seed. Clip off the corners before you turn so it’s not as bulky, then turn right side out.

 

Measure 1.5 C of flax seed into a large bowl. Add 5 – 7 drops of your selected essential oil. Mix so the oils are distributed well. Using the funnel, scoop the flax seed into the flannel pouch. Top stitch closed. (I go across the entire side so it looks nicer.)

heat-pack

 

Miscellaneous notes:

1.5 C of flax seed weighs about a half a pound.

Flax seed works better than rice…rice has water inside the grain, which eventually evaporates and it will no longer retain heat. Flax seeds have oil inside them, which makes for a much longer lasting heat pack.

Heat for 30 seconds at a time until you get a feel for how warm you want it to be.

2 thoughts on “Aromatherapy Heat Packs Using Flax Seed

  1. Lisa Mathews

    These came out great! The flannel is so soft and cozy. The flaxseed has no scent other than whatever a essential oil you choose to use. I’ve noticed that when I use rice it definitely has a grainy smell… Which isn’t the greatest when you’re trying to it with an aromatherapy effect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Shark Week Heat Packs – Belle City Handmade

Leave a Reply

